It is the simple thing in life that counts

image

I visited a family stall at the night market in Luang Prabang. An elderly lady perhaps in her 80s was helping out at her son’s stall. I was very good at negotiating the price. I didn’t know what comment she made about me. The neighbouring stalls were laughing their head off. I bought two cute bags from her with the price that we agreed.

They all said ‘goodbye to me.’ When I was on my way back to the guesthouse, something about this family has touched my heart. I saw how Grandma, son, son in law, grandson and daughter all worked together as a team to make money. I don’t think they make a lot of money from the market stalls. They do not have a lot in life but they are very happy. I love their grandma. She is so cute and adorable. The next day I went back and bought a few more cute bags from her.

These people showed me ‘Life is not about what you have or do not have. It is the simple thing in life that counts.’

Written by:
Lilian Yong

One thought on “It is the simple thing in life that counts

Leave a Reply

